Police and crime commissioners

Police and crime commissioners are elected by the public to ensure the policing needs of communities are met as effectively as possible and to oversee how crime is tackled in your police force area.

Candidates for Leicestershire

Elections for police and crime commissioners have now taken place. Rupert Oliver Matthews has been elected as police and crime commissioner for Leicestershire.

Click on a candidate below to view their election statement

Fizza Askari

One Leicester

Read more
Fizza Askari - Portrait

Aasiya Bora

Green Party

Read more
Aasiya Bora - Portrait

Rupert Oliver Matthews

The Conservative Party Candidate

Read more
Rupert Oliver Matthews - Portrait

Rory Palmer

Labour and Co-operative Party

Read more
Rory Palmer - Portrait

Ian Robert Sharpe

Liberal Democrats

Read more
Ian Sharpe - Portrait

Download a PDF booklet containing the statements of all candidates standing at this election

Download an audio file containing the statements of all candidates standing at this election

Statement by the Police Area Returning Officer for Leicestershire

This website contains more information about those candidates (where provided) and other information useful to voters. The information provided by a candidate is their responsibility, and may not reflect the opinions of myself or my council. As Police Area Returning Officer I am responsible for coordinating the election and announcing the result in Leicestershire. Police and Crime Commissioner Elections will be held in Leicestershire on 2 May 2024; the candidates standing in that election, alphabetically by surname (as they will appear on the ballot paper), are:

  • ASKARI, Fizza (One Leicester)
  • BORA, Aasiya (Green Party)
  • MATTHEWS, Rupert Oliver (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • PALMER, Rory (Labour and Co-operative Party)
  • SHARPE, Ian Robert (Liberal Democrats)

I can be contacted at:

Alison Greenhill

City Hall
115 Charles Street