Choose my PCC Choose my PCC

Police and crime commissioners

Police and crime commissioners are elected by the public to ensure the policing needs of communities are met as effectively as possible and to oversee how crime is tackled in your police force area.

Candidates for South Wales

Elections for police and crime commissioners have now taken place. Alun Edward Michael has been elected as police and crime commissioner for South Wales.

Click on a candidate below to view their election statement

 Download a PDF booklet containing the statements of all candidates standing at this election

Statement by the Police Area Returning Officer for South Wales

This website contains more information about those candidates (where provided) and other information useful to voters. The information provided by a candidate is their responsibility, and may not reflect the opinions of myself or my council. As Police Area Returning Officer I am responsible for coordinating the election and announcing the result in South Wales. Police and Crime Commissioner Elections will be held in South Wales on 5th May 2016; the candidates standing in that election, alphabetically by surname (as they will appear on the ballot paper), are:

  • BAKER, Mike (Independent)
  • DAVIES, Tim (Welsh Conservative Party Candidate/Ymgeisydd Geidwadol Cymru)
  • MICHAEL, Alun Edward (Labour and Co-operative Party / Llafur a’r Blaid Gydweithredol)
  • PURCELL, Linet Margaret (Plaid Cymru - The Party of Wales)
  • WOODMAN, Judith Barbara (Welsh Liberal Democrats/Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol Cymru)

I can be contacted at:

Christine Salter

City of Cardiff Council
County Hall
Atlantic Wharf
CF10 4UW

029 2087 2301