Police and crime commissioners

Police and crime commissioners are elected by the public to ensure the policing needs of communities are met as effectively as possible and to oversee how crime is tackled in your police force area.


Search again by location:

Search again by candidate:

If you know a candidate's name, you can use the search below:

Elections for police and crime commissioners have now taken place. Alan Charles has been elected as police and crime commissioner for Derbyshire.

Statement by the Police Area Returning Officer for Derbyshire

This website contains information about these candidates, as determined by each of them subject to the relevant requirements in Schedule 8 of the Police and Crime Commissioner Elections Order 2012. It also contains other information useful to voters.

Liability in respect of the publication of the candidate’s information rests with that candidate, and his election agent.

As the Police Area Returning Officer I am responsible for coordinating the election and announcing the result in Derbyshire. As part of that role, I have stated to the Secretary of State that I am satisfied that the information provided by each candidate complies with the relevant requirements as above.

The election of the Police and Crime Commissioner for the Derbyshire Police Area will be held on Thursday 15 November 2012. The candidates standing in that election, in the order in which they will appear on the ballot paper, are:

  • Charles, Alan Frank (Labour Party Candidate)
  • Gale, David (UKIP)
  • Hutton, Rod (Independent)
  • Spencer, Simon Andrew (The Conservative Party Candidate)

I can be contacted at:

Peter Carney

Town Hall

01773 841632



This website is provided by:

The Secretary of State for the Home Department
2 Marsham Street